cardinals


nana has been sending a lot of birds these days,

and i’m sure it’s because she knows i need them.

it’s always unexpected, though i should

expect them by now, they cross my path

when my mind is blank.

i don’t believe the dead are watching us –

i’m sure they have better things to do

but i know that nana still sends me love,

and i know that sometimes love is

what i need to keep myself in this world.

red wings flit and flutter in front

of my car as i drive to work,

to meet friends, to run my errands –

it doesn’t matter what i’m doing –

it is springtime and

they are there and i feel like

i’ve gotten a hug from 20 years ago.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe
  2. Iris D
    May 13, 2011 @ 11:32:28

    You are a very effective storyteller. Your imagery is very good. Enjoy the cardinals.
    Iris
    http://irisinbloom.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. Tally
    May 12, 2011 @ 22:00:07

    Lovely poem, I always seem to notice birds while in the car and the bright colored ones, seem to tell me of brighter things to come. Really enjoyed it.

    Reply

  4. WyomingDiva
    May 12, 2011 @ 17:44:46

    I see signs and messages in everything, so your poem very much appealed to me – and it’s well written!

    Reply

  5. Jingle
    May 12, 2011 @ 08:45:38

    Hello,
    Appreciate your participation at poets rally,
    Please return favor to poets who are here yet you did not reach them initially,
    Bless your day.
    Have fun!

    LET US KNOW AFTER YOU ARE DONE.
    😉

    Reply

  6. Donna Swanson
    May 11, 2011 @ 16:57:08

    Does that mean the bright red cardinal that has been trying to peck his way through my office window is trying to bring me a message? Thanks for the thoughts!

    Reply

  7. Judy
    May 10, 2011 @ 19:57:47

    This sweet poem reminds me of the close relationship I had with my Nana. Love it!

    Reply

  8. liv2write2day
    May 09, 2011 @ 16:03:44

    Amazing. My sister sends butterflies!

    Reply

  9. thingy
    May 09, 2011 @ 15:19:50

    How sweet. This is really lovely.

    Reply

  10. luna15
    May 09, 2011 @ 11:02:48

    Ooo how beautiful!

    Reply

  11. mindlovemisery
    May 09, 2011 @ 07:45:38

    =) Lovely and I certainly hope my lost have something more interesting to do then watch me!

    Reply

  12. charlesmashburn
    May 09, 2011 @ 07:20:48

    This is great! It makes me think of my poem, “Pennies From Heaven”, except instead of finding pennies, the angels send you birds. Your poem fairly dances and flits in the air like a bird darting in front of me. Nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

