shipment


the distant hum

of the highway lullaby is

the song that sings in the

back of my brain,

the tune that plays

behind my dreams.

passing trucks lull me to sleep

like they always have,

from some not so distant road

sometimes blocked by soundproof walls.

this is my natural habitat.

i have noise in my head and

motor oil in my nails,

pollution in my lungs

and city skylines on my skin.

i know too much

yet nothing at all,

and the times when the world makes sense

seem arbitrary.

but i can take it on,

i’m made from tougher stuff

than you can see –

and my skin is thick with scars.

the passing trucks

carry fear away

into the distant night,

and i exhale.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kshawnedgar
    May 25, 2011 @ 07:33:26

    A unique take on highways and byways and oily truck sounds.

    Reply

  2. Jingle
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 21:37:07

    love it…
    A++

    Reply

  3. Words Asunder
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 18:15:02

    Great..I like it 🙂 I work with trucks..they can carry much 🙂

    Reply

  4. jingle poetry
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 20:22:15

    join us tonight,

    keep writing..

    Reply

  5. Jamie Dedes
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 00:00:10

    “I’m made from tougher stuff…” Yes, indeed! Poem on. Well written poem and fine sentiment.

    Reply

  6. Jingle Poetry
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 10:59:32

    well expressed sentiments..keep it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

