growth


my path in the woods comforts

just by stretching out before me –

a softly waiting lover

beckoning me forward,

to the place where things

get better.

here among the trees i am stable

because they are strong

i am golden

because they are green.

the sunken earth gives way,

cradling each step,

holding the print and

keeping the secret of my footfall,

the secret of my tears.

the kinds of birds

my grandmother sometimes sends 

fly across my path,

a distant reminder that somewhere,

i am loved.

and the woods make me worthy,

the leaves steal my sobs,

the dirt absorbs my aching pain.

beneath the boughs,

beside the river

i have hope.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 09:18:20

    I never realized we were soul sister – maybe one reason you’ve been my daughter’s best friend for so many years?

    Reply

  2. kshawnedgar
    May 25, 2011 @ 07:28:34

    The words make you worthy. Good movement and tone, in your sob stealing leaves.

    Reply

  3. Jingle
    May 23, 2011 @ 12:48:56

    Thanks for sharing…

    awesome talent.

    Reply

  4. wolfsrosebud
    May 23, 2011 @ 10:23:21

    The woods are a wonder… I’m curious how many other poets tread the path of woodland peace? I’m one and have the excuse of a dog to visit the depth of the forest daily…

    Reply

  5. fiveloaf
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 08:15:57

    lovely berry… hmmm my potluck.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/frozen-fears/

    Reply

  6. Jingle
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 20:17:11

    love the imagery, secret tears, love from your grandpa..
    wow.

    A++
    😉

    Reply

  7. James Parker
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 00:10:39

    I think this is perfect me your mom. We all come from the earth like we come from our mothers, and moms are always the last, best comfort in this wild world.

    Reply

  8. Wing Builder
    May 29, 2008 @ 07:17:27

    Beautiful poem. Makes me sad now, though. Probably because I am not in or near the woods but rather stuck in a sad little square.
    I plan to read the poem again; slower this time, so I can stay longer.

    Reply

  9. Mike
    May 29, 2008 @ 00:46:01

    Nice poem, kind of Tweedy-esque, very cool.

    Reply

  10. tepidlake
    May 29, 2008 @ 00:09:17

    What a great poem! This is just how I feel when walking through the woods. I particularly like how the birds are a reminder that “somewhere I am loved”. Very nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

